Now That We’ve Had A Black President, I Suppose Why Not A Woman? Maybe

Okay, let’s get this straight, our dearly beloved freedom hugging, equality loving country has had forty-four presidents but none of them are females? Oh and an African American was so kindly elected recently, good effort America, I guess now we can end world hunger. In all seriousness, I find it rather a coincidence how black people are accepted first and then come the women. This comment does not imply that I think it is unfair for African Americans, Obama, to have been elected, no it is far from that. What I am trying to articulate is how surreal it is for any one other than a white male to have been president for as long as we have been our own nation. I find it a funny coincidence how voting for African Americans were passed first and then the women followed, its just a funny, not so funny thought.

485306_10151514507322435_1007372957_n

But if you asked me, is Hillary Clinton right for the position as the 45th President of the United States? I would tell you to ask this person, Jackie Kucinich for her insightful article on the thought of Hillary’s presidency. Truthfully, I have no idea about Hillary’s battle plans to keep our country running or her viewpoints on any issues. What kind of person is she even?

The initial reason I was for Hillary Clinton when rumors of her as possible 2016 campaign was because she was female and as a female i thought it was about time for one. I made and stuck with my position without looking at her viewpoints and if they matched mine and if she was fit to become president. Therefore, I am looking at this topic through a very biased lens but the underlying messages should not be disregarded. The important point I am trying to make is why has it taken this long for even just the thought of a woman running for president to be finally accepted by Americans.

Leave a Reply

